LIFE UPDATE

Always be yourself, unless you can be Beyoncé. Then, always be Beyoncé.

In February 2017, we were all stunned to hear the announcement of Beyoncé’s second pregnancy. What makes this even sweeter is, she announced she is pregnant with twins.

Never to do things in a subtle way, she announced the post on her Instagram. In the post, she was knelt amongst flowers in lingerie and a teal veil, whilst embracing her bump.

Like most people, I was thrilled and happy for Beyoncé. Of course, like most of the world, I have followed Beyoncé’s life since she cropped up at the age of fifteen in Destiny’s Child. The world has seen her date Jay Z, marry Jay Z, increase her wealth (which is estimated at $290 million) and of course, give birth and raise her now five-year-old daughter, Blue Ivy.

The news of her second pregnancy made me recollect a statement she made on Oprah, ‘Make sure you have your own life before becoming someone’s wife.’ Thankfully, we live in a day and age where a woman’s life can be more than being a wife and a mother. Before becoming a mum and a wife, Beyoncé had a growing empire.

I’m not saying she has a perfect life, but her life is inspirational and her music has touched me in many ways. And if y’all didn’t know, I’m trying to do the same. I want to have my own life and become someone’s wife one day. But does that mean earning a certain amount of money or attaining that Olympic gold medal before getting hitched?

To me, I don’t think it is about achieving monetary or worldly accomplishments, because there are always accomplishments to be achieved; that lasts a lifetime. I think having your own life simply means knowing who you are and what you want out of life. To put it simply, ‘Know Thyself’.

I believe to ‘Know Thyself’ is not an easy thing; it takes self-acceptance, self-reflection and self-discovery. And if you understand this, then you will know why I love Beyoncé and her music. I’m learning this as a woman who is unmarried and not yet a mother and I’m learning that this particular life lesson will continue as I grow into my marriage and into motherhood. I am so grateful for this lesson because it means I get to accomplish something greater than money or world accomplishments, and that’s love. In this lesson, you can never fail. Love never fails.

Leave a Reply

