LIFE UPDATE

A date with yourself

I’m just going to say it.

I’m the type of woman who loves dates! Dating can sometimes be an annoying hoo-ha but a really good date is the part of ‘dating’ I really enjoy. I love dressing up and putting on my best clothes, doing my hair and doing my makeup. I do like to take my time when I get ready, but it’s not the Oscars; I’m usually done in an hour. That’s the first reason.

The second reason I love dates is love new company. After getting ready, new company is probably what I enjoy most about dating. I think there is something very special about talking with a handsome man, who you really fancy. There is also something very special about talking with an unhandsome man, who you really don’t fancy. Somehow, God only knows how, I’ve been on both of these dates. And somehow, despite my notable persistence, I am still single, waiting for the next time I can get dressed up for a date and enjoy some male company.

Quite recently, I have been thinking about my singleness – what I like and don’t like about it; and one thing I don’t like about it is not being able to go out as much as I would like to, on a date. I really don’t like it.

So, what is a girl to do? Keep trying until she finds that man? Not necessarily. I’m discovering that if I want to be attractive to the best sort of man, I have to be the best sort of woman. What does that mean, to be the best sort of woman? That answer is different for everyone. For some people, it is having their body in the best shape, for others, it is being skilled and having a job that fulfils you. For me, it’s learning to enjoy my own company.

If you have read the about me page, you would know that I am a playwright. I attribute my understanding of theatre to watching countless and countless numbers of plays when I was younger. Majority of them, I enjoyed by myself. So, I don’t have a problem with my own company, however, it seemed I had a problem with enjoying my own company and taking myself on a date, the way a guy would?  So I decided to do that. I decided to take myself out on a date.

I told two of my female friends, who happened to be in relationships about it, and they were all for it. They thought it was a good idea. However, when I told my mum, she thought it was a bit desperate. She thought it would be better to go with someone else. I, on the other hand, didn’t think it was desperate. I thought it was quite empowering.

Why did I have to wait for a guy to treat me special? Couldn’t I just do that myself? In fact, why did I have to wait on a man to do anything for me? I may be repeating something you have already heard here, but the most important relationship you have is the relationship you have with yourself. If you don’t know how to treat yourself special, then you will have no idea, how you want a man to treat you. I have an understanding of how I want to be treated by my future life partner and I’m learning how to create that relationship within myself. So that when the right man comes along, I’ll know he’s the right man, hopefully without the annoying hoo-ha of dating. Because as you know, even if a guy asks for your number, there is always the chance that he doesn’t ring. Even if he calls, there is always the chance that you will not go out with him. Can I get an amen?

Let me know your thoughts on dates, dating and your relationship with yourself. (You can check out some of my date night fashion ideas on my Pinterest).

 Jacket – ASOS (Similar)

T-shirt – New Look

Brooches –  H&M (check store) (similar)

Jeggings – Zara (Similar)

Belt- Primark

Heels – (Similar)

Earrings – River Island

1 thought on “A date with yourself”

Leave a Reply

