HEALTH, LIFE UPDATE

Style trumps size… every time

doubleestudios-1.JPG

I wrote a post a few weeks back about how I am finding my style in 2017. Knowing your style, comes with knowing other things about yourself such as your body shape and how tall you are etc. But it also comes with knowing who you are as a person; what you like, what you don’t like, what about yourself you are really proud of and how you have learnt from mistakes, even the fashion mistakes.

Going through this style awakening initially wasn’t the easiest because it has been an uphill battle with my size.

Going down memory lane, as a young teenager, I wasn’t skinny and I didn’t like it. I tried different things to lose weight including running and only eating two meals a day, but at the age of 18 I still remained a UK size 14/US size 10. At the time, I wanted to be a UK size 10/US size 6. I also didn’t like my height, I was taller than all the boys and no, I didn’t have a boyfriend in those years.

I remained bigger until my second year of university when I joined the university gym and dropped two dress sizes. I felt a lot more attractive and even a friend complimented me about looking ‘streamlined’. It was a nice feeling and I was beginning to gain more confidence with my height. Sure enough, when I went back home for the summer, I wasn’t attending my university gym and decided I was too busy in my third year to work out, I gained weight and went up a dress size.

My weight fluctuated over the next couple years, but I mostly remained at a UK size 12/ US size 8. However, in January 2014, I joined The Gym for a few months and lost a significant amount of weight. I also became quite toned. My lack of commitment, however meant I would eventually put on weight again. Nevertheless, life circumstance and illness meant I would lose a greater amount of weight, more than I had ever lost and then quickly put it back on in the winter of 2014. I couldn’t tell what size I was here because I was into wearing baggy, shapeless clothes.

I joined The Gym again in January 2015 for about three months and I lost weight. I decided to start cycling, because I wasn’t happy with how much I was spending on travel. My body was looking great and went down to a UK size 10/US size 6, my ultimate dream size. People were complimenting me on looking like a model. But I had no clothes that fit me properly and no earnings to buy a new wardrobe.

When I began a full-time job, I decided to stop riding to work because it was too long a journey. I still remained at a UK size 10, but the definition in my body began to disappear. My heart broke every time I looked at my bum.

Again life circumstances happened and I ended up putting on two dress sizes in the last six months of 2016. I have never done that before. I began with The Gym in October, but for whatever reason I wasn’t losing weight the way I usually did.

I go to the gym when I can. If I had the time, I will go 5 times a week. But I am still a UK size 14. Life can be funny sometimes.

doubleestudios-82.JPGdoubleestudios-62.JPG

As I gained weight, I was coincidentally preparing to go to the cold state of Minnesota, so I needed some new clothes and a new hairdo. Embracing a new wardrobe with fresh auburn ombré hair made me feel super confident. Not to brag, but I got a little bit of male attention whilst in America and it made me feel like spice! A shop assistant even asked me if I was a model whilst I was buying a cookie. I was surprised as I was usually only told that when I was slimmer. I guess being tall and size UK 14 wasn’t that bad after all.

When I came back, I started at The Gym again, but felt so confident as a size 14 that I didn’t really want to lost any more weight. I felt like I had finally found me, the stylish, confident me, who intrinsically looks good at any size. The more I started to research plus size models, like Ashley Graham (who has the best style and Instagram), Robyn Lawley (whose body is immense) and Marquita Pring, I learnt that they worked out and yet were naturally bigger than typical models. Ever heard of someone who is natural skinny? Well there are naturally bigger people too.

I happen to be one of them. I work out, I’m healthy, I drink a lot of green tea, and I’m a UK size 14. Right now in my life, that is who I am and there is nothing wrong with that. I’m not saying it is a bad thing to lose weight but it’s not a bad thing to put on weight either.

I believe that when you are happy and really content, the right style and fashion choices will exude from you and you will be drawn to choices that are right for you. Who would have thought that Debbie Hughes, who used to wear men’s trousers to hide her big thighs, would own a pair of sheer silver trousers? Who would have thought that the 18 year old Debbie Hughes, who hated being a UK size 14, would later be a UK size 14 model? And own UK size 14 bikinis? (BTW Bikinis are the best garment anyone can own, sorry guys). Fashion is made for all women, in all sizes.

doubleestudios-25.JPG

Let me know your thoughts on your fashion, your body and style discoveries. Comment down below.

Blazer – Zara (similar)

Tusk Earrings – Topshop (Similar)

Shirt – Monki @ ASOS (similar)

Jeans – Dorothy Perkins

Watch – New Look (Similar)

Heels – New Look (Similar)

Photos by Oohamos

Leave a Reply

