HAIR AND BEAUTY

Topshop Lipstick ‘Boardroom’

 

img_1947

You know that certain product that you have been eyeing up for a while and you are like, I’ll get it, I’ll get it. I will get it. And you keep putting off buying it but you know you want it. Fellas, I don’t know what product that is for you but for women it always seems to be a lipstick. Mine was Topshop lipstick in ‘Boardroom’.

In the last few months of 2015, I discovered Boardroom. I tried it on in Topshop. It is a beautiful, semi-matte mauve lipstick, which worked as a great alternative nude colour on my skin. I fell in love. I said to myself, I’m going to buy that. I was sure I wanted it. I tried it on a couple more times and grew more attached to it. It worked every time I applied it and lasted throughout the day. I’m going to buy it.

I don’t know what put me off buying it then, whether it was the shock of finding such a perfect nude or just plain silliness, but I didn’t buy the lipstick.

Then spring 2016 came and the lipstick had gone. The entire autumn/winter collection was replaced with bright colour lipsticks. You snooze you lose. It wasn’t even on the Topshop website. I tried to find something similar, but still couldn’t find anything. The only similar nude I know of is L’Oreal Paris Collection Privee Colour Riche – Liya’s Nude, which if you get your hands on, you are a lucky person, my friend.

Long story short, this autumn/winter, ‘Boardroom’ came back and I bought it off the Topshop website with my Topshop birthday discount.

img_0483

I tried it on at home before wearing it out and the again I thought the colour was beautiful, however with the change in my makeup look and routine, it needed some work. I wore two different lipliners with the lipstick; Maxfactor’s Brown and Bold on the bottom and Barry M’s Wine on top. I thought this lipstick is effort, but it worked.

The first time I wore it in public was on my mum’s birthday trip to Paris in January 2017. Paris, of course was freezing and my lips chapped. Now I wouldn’t say it was the lipstick’s fault, but Boardroom’s longevity in freezing weather isn’t very long. This is kind of disappointing as this is an autumn/winter colour. However, in the warmer weather of London, there was no chapping, which is a thumbs up.

That being said, I think the colour is just stunning and I think Boardroom could be worn all year round. As well as this shade, Topshop does a great collection of autumn/winter colours.

I would love to hear your thoughts on Boardroom or any lipstick that you are loving right now. Comment below.

img_0486img_0488

Shirt – Zara (similar)

Leave a Reply

