FASHION

Baby, I like your style

uxcd2536

If you read my post from a weeks ago, you know that I have decided to up my blogging game. One of the reasons I’ve decided to become a professional blogger stems from an interest which has now developed into a love… SHOPPING! Specifically, fashion shopping.

I absolutely love shopping and all the things that come with it. This includes wishlists, new discoveries, new trends and classics, virtual shopping and deliveries from Hermes. Not queues, though.

I love developing my personal style. If you follow me on Instagram and Snapchat, @deborahappening, then you would have seen some of my new discoveries and would have noticed that I’m really into looking sexy and classic. I think now at the grand age of 26, I’m discovering how to be a sexy and classic woman. It takes a new level of confidence, which again, I am discovering. It’s a confidence that screams to the world: this is who I am, no apologies.

Going into 2017, I’ve realised that there are various factors which can have an effect on one’s personal style. One of the factors which I think is the most important is, deciding who you want to be in life. And that mental decision transcends external factors like weight, size and height.

Thankfully this mental decision coincided with New Year sales. Does that mean I should spend all of my money on clothes and bags? Some people may disapprovingly think so. I feel that those who think that spending a lot of money on clothes is bad put too little importance on the effect developing one’s personal style can have on a person’s character. I feel I’ve decided to take areas in my life more seriously, such as a career, love life, fitness etc., because I have decided to take my personal style more seriously.

What is the easiest and most obvious way to communicate who you really are? Through your appearance. Humans judge very quickly. Now I am not saying you should overtly care what people think about you. What I am saying is you should care about the impression you make on people. Shopping has taught me if you want to change the world, first you have to start with yourself. I’m starting with my personal style so I can effectively communicate what I want from the universe and who I want to be in it.

So, taking on board that it is New Year sales, I’ve made a new discovery and I have big plans for this year – I’ve bought clothes to prepare for my twenty-something occasions: dating, work attire, clubbing and networking events. Buying for the future, is not only me investing in myself, it’s me deciding to create my own life story, which I discussed in my last post.

What has my shopping experience been like? When you don’t get your size or the fabric is fraying, it kind of sucks. But when you do get the right piece and you try it on, matched with the right shoes or right necklace, it is so much fun! That is something I have forgotten to say, developing my personal style is fun. Colours and fabrics are fun. So take it seriously, but not too seriously. Listen to people who are trying to help you (yes listen to your mum), but at the end of the day remember that you are the one wearing the clothes.

That being said, one trend that I have been in love with this New Year is fishnet tights. They can be worn on any occasion, and I mean any. They give an edge of grudge to an outfit. These ones are from Gispy at ASOS. Here are some fishnet tights outfit ideas featuring three NYX lipsticks.

Shopping trip

img_0452img_0456img_0471

Jumper dress – Primark

Black choker – River Island (similar)

Silver choker – Miss Selfridge (similar) (si milar)

Hoop Earrings – River Island

Bracelet – Topshop (similar)

Over The Knee Boots – Dorothy Perkins

Lipstick – NYX Simply Vamp in ‘She Devil’

Date Night

img_0500img_0509img_0511

Tusk Earrings – Topshop (similar)

Second-Hole Earrings – Primark

Choker – Topshop (similar)

Blouse – Zara (similar)

Leather Trouser – Zara (similar)

Heels – Topshop (similar) (similar)

Bracelet – Topshop (similar)

Lipstick – NYX Full Throttle in 11 Loaded

Concert night

img_0523img_0531img_0534

(what I should have worn to the Drake concert, if I had a ticket)

Shirt – ASOS

Jeans – Zara (similar)

Ankle Boots – New Look

Watch – New Look

Bracelet – Topshop (similar)

Lipstick – NYX Butter Lipstick in 28 Heatwave

Follow me on Instagram and Snapchat to see my new purchases and outfits.

untitled

1 thought on “Baby, I like your style”

Leave a Reply

