HAIR AND BEAUTY

Lucky No7

 

img_16551

One of the reasons I’ve been drawn to the life of a professional blogger is I love writing about new products that I’m using and sharing them with new people. I’m just that type of woman. I really love it; helping people become more satisfied with their purchases. I know what it’s like to find and use crappy products that are not helping anyone, especially, and most importantly yourself. Those pair of shoes you wish you hadn’t bought, those jeans you thought you would lose weight for – yes, we have all been there.

My mum taught me a vital lesson from a young age – always take care of your skin. Always cream your skin. Always invest in your skin. Especially your face. I heard this throughout my pre-teen years when I was troubled with dry skin and through my teenage years, when I suffered acne. So, it’s sort of engrained in me to pick items from trusted and well-known brands. But still struggling with breakouts I decided to try something more natural, and so for the last two years or so, I was actually using a shea butter mix on my body and face. The mix includes vitamin E oil and olive oil. I thought that it was working fine and my breakouts were infrequent. But, I soon began to realise that I had a weird combination skin, where my face could become really oily very fast, especially under makeup or very dry without it. It appeared the shea butter wasn’t helping – my skin was not receiving enough essential moisture.

So, I decided to try the No7 Beautiful Skin Day Cream for Normal/Oily. Switching from shea butter to the No7 cream, I felt the difference immediately. Firstly, I don’t really like creams with perfume in them and I could feel the cream’s perfume on my skin. But the more I used it, the more I got used to the perfume, and now after a few weeks don’t even notice it. 

img_0333

A little goes a long way. I use my fingertips to apply the cream and the application is lightweight.  The cream comes in a beautiful little 50ml jar – you could easily mistake it for a luxury skincare product. The Day Cream is definitely a good combination with my Liz Earle Instant Boost Skin Tonic, which I use before applying the Day Cream. After a few weeks of using it, there have been no breakouts and my skin feels smooth and hydrated. It is a great base for the No7 Airbrush Away Pore Minimising Primer which I now use.

img_0334

Originally, I was trying to find the discontinued No7 Beautifully Matte primer, after I had tried it in a makeup lesson with celebrity makeup artist, Edith Williams. I loved the primer and was gutted to find out it had been discontinued. However, the No7 sales assistant advised me to try its replacement, No7 Airbrush Away Pore Minimising Primer. The primer is oil free and feels like a lightweight powder on the skin.

Being a combination/oily girl, I need a good primer to retain oil. This definitely did the job. It held my makeup in place throughout the day. Towards the end of the day, however, I did become noticeably oily again, (and I forgot to carry my MAC Studio Fix powder to touch up) so it’s not the best day to night primer, but to be fair, I am yet to find one that is. With the right products, I would say the primer works well.

The finishing touch to any makeup look for me is what you put on your lips and the No7 High Shine Lip Gloss definitely gives a beautiful finish. The shade I used is ‘Glazed Plum’ which is a dark plummy purple. It’s very moisturising and it’s not sticky which some drug store lip glosses can be. The colour gorgeously tints the lips so that you could wear it as an everyday lip gloss. It’s my everyday lip gloss at the moment. I have a Bobbi Brown lip gloss in ‘Aubergine’ that is similar in colour but the No7 pigmentation absolutely trumps the Bobbi Brown lip gloss. The sheen and the colour last for hours. I will be repurchasing when it is finished.

img_0338

Make sure you take advantage of the other No7 deals at the moment – Boots is doing ‘buy one, get a second half price’ on cosmetics – meaning you can buy two shades! And 3 for 2 on No7 skincare. Plus, all of these purchases gain you Boots advantage points, so why delay!?

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

