CAREER, LIFE UPDATE

What I learnt from disappointment

Thank you for all the fantastic feedback I have received. It is very warming knowing that your writing is appreciated. It maybe clichéd to say, but it has elevated my confidence.

IMG_1079[1].PNGIt’s been a minute since I’ve posted. I don’t want to appear as an impulsive blogger, but this post might appear impulsive. I also don’t want to appear as one of those bloggers who only post when they go through something emotive, but I have gone through something emotive and emotive enough that I have to blog about it, because I like sharing my life lessons. I definitely believe that this is what this blog is supposed to be about, because I made the decision for it to be that way. And that surprise, surprise is one of the things I want to blog about today.

One of my goals for this year is get a new job. Not to put all my business out there on the internet, but I’m currently on two zero contract jobs, which I am grateful to have, but its 2017 and its time to get a better paid job that utilizes my talents and passions. At the end of last year, I applied for a graduate position as a Bid Writer. I was shortlisted for an interview in January, but unfortunately, I didn’t get the job.

I thought the interview went well. I prepared on competency interviews, which if you haven’t done before, isn’t the easiest. It’s a lot of information about my work history I had to remember. I also prepared with my mum over and over and over again, which again isn’t the easiest.

It’s very disappointing because this role was definitely something I wanted for myself. This is probably the fifth interview I have had since leaving my last 9-5. As sad as not getting this role is, I’m not going to allow it to get me down, there are plenty more jobs in the world.

What I’ve learnt from this rejection is how serious I need to be to accomplish my goals in my life.  You get in life not just what you ask for, but what you work for. I am the creator of my life and factors like a 9-5 job rejection should never stop me from creating.

So what am I to do? Well, I could continue applying for jobs and hoping that someone will take a chance on me, which there is nothing wrong with, or I could take a chance on myself give myself the right job. There is a way to do this. Fulfil your talents and follow your passions.

This job would have allowed me to do something which I love doing – writing. But I could do that whether I’m employed by a company or not. This job would have given me a better salary, but really, if I want it, I could get, if I chose to have it. One option is to follow my talent and write; become an entrepreneurial blogger.

Now this might be the biggest cliché in the world, ‘you can’t get a job, so you decided to be an entrepreneur’. But I actually think it is a lesson I suppose to learn. Now I’m going to say it again, I’m not going to stop looking for a 9-5, but I love blogging and all the work duties that come with it; it definitely is a passion. So I’ve decided to pursue it by doing the ‘Fashion blogging’ short course at the London College of Fashion. I’m very much an amateur when it comes to blogging so I’m hoping that I learn a lot about professional blogging.

I think sometimes you can go after something like a 9-5 job, but really in our hearts we want more. We want to create more in our lives, but we too scared (I certainly have been) and sometimes we get to that point of disappointment that life will force us to create what we dream of. This could be other things, disappointment in romantic relationships or even with your body.

Let me know your thoughts, if you have suffered disappointed and how you dealt with it.

1 thought on “What I learnt from disappointment”

Leave a Reply

